A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in udupi

Administration in Udupi

Udupi Administration

Government in Udupi follows the specific general Local Governance in India. Our India is classified in two categorie; Rural and Local Governance. Urban Local Governance is also called as Municipal Councils and Municipal Corporations.

Most of the large areas are administrated by Municipal Corporations. Municipal Councils or Municipal Councils are governed by small urban areas. Large Urban areas are administrated by Municipal Corporations; most of the smaller urban areas are administrated by Municipal Councils. There are more than 20 Municipal Corporations in Karnataka which are known to be important one is Udupi Municipal Corporations.

Rural Government in India predicts the information as per the information on the Panchayati Raj system that is known to be a three tier system. The District Level determines the Zilla Parishad, Middle level and Village Council defines the lowest level. Zilla Parishad is known to be local government body at the district level, located at the administration of rural areas and the headquarters of the district.

There are 25 Zilla Parishads in Udupi. There is a link between Gram Panchayat and Zilla Parishad which is known to be the local government body in Karnataka. There are 250 Panchayat Samitis Udupi district. Zilla Panchayat comprises of elected members and Vice president. The major role of each and every member is to improve and create the infrastructure facilities such as drinking water, hospitals, schools, bridges and many more. Meetings are often conducted in order to analyze the problems faced as per the specific action in order to solve the problem and develop scheme necessary for implementation.

Deputy Commissioner & District Magistrate
Address: Deputy Commissioner Office, Rajatadri, Manipal    Contact: 0820-2574924

Members of Udupi Zilla Panchayath

  • There are two members who are elected from legislative from rural areas of district
  • All Parliament Members of the district belong to the State Legislative Council and the State Legislative Assembly.

Lok Sabha (Parliament) Constituencies in Udupi

Udupi Lok Sabha was known to be the former Lok Sabha constituency in Karnataka. Seats came to existence in the year 1957. As per the implementation of parliamentary constituencies in the year 2008,

Udupi Lok Sabha comprises of eight Legislative Assembly Places are:

  • Surathkal
  • Udupi
  • Bantwal
  • Kaup
  • Brahmavar
  • Moodabidri
  • Coondapur
  • Baindur
Most of the Legislative Assembly segments are Kaup, Udupi, Coondapur, Baindur and many more are there in Udupi district and the legislative assembly constituencies are known as Bantwal, Moodabidri and Surathkal in Kannada district. Baindur is known to be the part of Brahmavar and Shimoga.

Assembly Constituencies in Udupi district

Karnataka State has 200 Legislative assembly constituencies which are major assembly legislative in Udupi District:

  • Udupi North
  • Udupi South
  • Udupi Central
  • Udupi East
  • Udupi West
  • Haveri
  • Shimoga
  • Kolar
  • Bangalore South
  • Bangalore Rural
  • Chikkodi
  • Bangalore Central
  • Belgaum
  • Hassan
  • Mandya
  • Davanagere
  • Dakshina Kannada
  • Chikballapur
  • Bagalkot
  • Bidar

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries